I have lived in Northern Virginia since 1998.  This surprises me some.  Prior to my adult life I had never lived anywhere for more than 5 years at a time.  I know that most of my desire to stay in NOVA is for stability for my kids.  But I honestly believe that a large portion of the reason I stay is the friends I have acquired over the years.

I have made friends through work – yes I worked outside of the home for many years!  I have made friends through Church.  I discovered my church home in 2006.  For various reasons I knew it was the right place for me.  I have been attending and making wonderful friends at Floris UMC ever since.  I love the women in my small group – they are some of the most supportive, caring and loving people I know.  And then there are the friends I have made through my kids.  These are truly amazing friendships.  You meet many people through your kids.  Many become associates, but a number of them become friends and if you are truly blessed you find a sister at heart.  I am blessed to have a number of friends through my kids and a couple sisters at heart.

My life is not always perfect.  And I can be a bit emotional.  But I have these wonderful people in my life you keep me grounded.  Some I see regularly and at least 1 I talk to almost daily.  My life would be nowhere near as much fun without them.

So for those of you who help lift me up, to help me be the best woman, partner, friend and Mom that I can be …THANK YOU!

If you are new to NOVA or have been here forever – embrace the people.  Find the ones that make you better, that make you smile, that know you are not the bad day they saw the other day and ultimately the ones that make life FUN!

